Nidahas Trophy 2018: A Summary of the Tournament

Bangladesh and India joined in Sri Lanka in a tri-nation T20 tournament. Sri Lanka started the series just after winning another Tri-nation in Bangladesh. On the hand, Bangladesh came to join in Nidahas Trophy with the broken minded team. They lost the tri-nation tournament, T20 series and test series in a just previous month. Not only that their Captain Shakib Al Hasan, also missed the first phase of the tournament due to injury. Meanwhile, India joined in the tournament with a very young team, led by Rohit Sharma. Even with the young team, India has been nominated as the tournament favorite. The question of the tournament was, who would play against India in final?

However, the tournament did not start as predicted. A very motivated Sri Lanka won against India in the opening match. Again, India won against Bangladesh in very next match. Twist of the series started from there. Bangladesh got a historic win against Sri Lanka in the very next match. Mushfiq lead Bangladesh with an extraordinary 72 runs in 52 balls. In the next two matches, India won comfortably.

The last match of the roundtable became the unwritten Semi-Final match. Whoever, won between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka would straight reach final. Sri Lanka scored 159 for 7. Perera played an important role to build a competitive total. Bangladesh started the match well as Tamim hit 50.  Mushi tried to build a wall but stopped with 28 only. Then Mahmudullah stroked with a light bolting inning and hit a 6 to win the thriller. However, things become controversial due to mismanagement of field umpires and an unprofessional behavior of Bangladesh captain. Though Mahmudullah was able to keep his nerve and win. After the match, Shakib got out with only 25% fine from match fees as it was found that umpires were actual center of all confusion creation.

In the final, India showed an astonishing display of fielding and restricted Bangladesh in only 166 runs. Sabbir Rahman played an important role with 77 runs to build a challenging score. However, the score could be big if Bangladesh players would be able to control themselves better.

India did start the chasing the match in style, but Bangladesh slowly took the control. The 18th over of Indian Innings Mustafiz gave 4 dots and a wicket. India then needed 34 runs in 12 balls. Just when everyone thought Bangladesh was the favorite to win the tournament, Dinesh Karthik took 22 runs in 19th over from Rubel. This outstanding match ended as DK hit a six in the last ball when India was in a need of 5 runs in 1 ball.

Winner: India
Runners Up: Bangladesh
Player of The Series: Washington Sundar


Most Runs in Nidahas Trophy

MDKJ Perera: Highest run scorer in Nidahas Trophy
MDKJ Perera: Highest run scorer in Nidahas Trophy


Highest Run scorer in Nidahas Trophy Tournament
Player Mat Inns NO Runs
MDKJ Perera (SL) 4 4 0 204
Mushfiqur Rahim (BD) 5 5 2 199
S Dhawan (IND) 5 5 0 198
RG Sharma (IND) 5 5 0 173
Tamim Iqbal (BD) 5 5 0 154


Most Wickets in Nidahas Trophy

Washington Sundar: Highest Wicket Taker in Nidahas Trophy
Washington Sundar: Highest Wicket Taker in Nidahas Trophy


Highest wicket takers in Nidahas Trophy Tournament
Player Mat Inns Overs Mdns Runs Wkts
Washington Sundar (IND) 5 5 20.0 0 114 8
YS Chahal (IND) 5 5 20.0 0 129 8
JD Unadkat (IND) 4 4 14.0 0 139 7
Rubel Hossain (BD) 5 5 19.4 0 172 7
Mustafizur Rahman (BD) 5 5 20.0 2 177 7


Highest Score: S Dhawan (IND) – 90 runs from 49 balls against Sri Lanka
Best bowling figures in an innings: SN Thakur (IND) – Against Sri Lanka, figure: 4-0-27-4
Highest total: Bangladesh 215/5 (Against Sri Lanka)
Most catches: NLTC Perera (SL) – Ct 6
Most dismissals: DK (Ind) – 5 dismissals
Highest partnerships: RG Sharma, SK Raina (Ind) – 102 runs against Bangladesh


-Data Source Cricinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.